Faculty and Staff

Founding Team

A. Louis Parker

Co-Founder, CEO:
A. Louis Parker

Neil Phillips

Neil Phillips

Shannon Rohrer-Phillips

Shannon Rohrer-Phillips

Cynthia Cavallaro Day

Cynthia Cavallaro Day
(Deceased, 1965-2020)

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors values the opinions of our parents, and welcomes feedback. If you have a complaint, or would like an item added to our Governing Board Agenda, please contact our Board Chairman, Mark Smith at board@vmacademy.org.

Download minutes, 990s and budgets here.

  • Mark Smith (Board Chair)
  • Gerald Bruce
  • Melissa Davis Dunlap
  • Marilyn Dwan Kline
  • Betsy N. Friedman
  • Naiema T. Frieson
  • Ronald Johnson
  • Victor McTeer
  • George Quarterman, CLU, LUTCF
  • James B. Stewart, Ph.D.
  • Janet Taylor MD, MPH
  • Roberto R. Villanueva
  • David G. Wilkins, Sr.

Advisory Board

  • Lynette Edwards
    Asst. Superintendent, Manatee County School District (Retired)
  • David Grain
    Chairman, Grain Management
  • Wilson Jones
    Chief Operating Officer, BoardSource (Retired)
  • Kelly Kirschner
    Former Mayor of Sarasota – Dean, Special Programs, Eckerd College
  • Brett Timmons
    Head Football Coach, Southeast High School

Faculty and Staff

  • Louis Parker, CEO
  • Desmond Blue, Physical Education
  • Dr. Janjay Gehndyu Ed. D., Principal
  • Jackie Gehndyu, Special Education Coordinator
  • Jacqueline Hinds, Resource Specialist
  • Peg Hughes, Social Worker
  • Tanisha Knight, Kindergarten
  • Cliff McDonald, Art Teacher
  • Kayon Parker, Volunteer Coordinator
  • Heather Reardon, Second Grade
  • Chris Sanders, Computer Science Teacher
  • Elizabeth Smith, First Grade Teacher
  • Suzi Shea, Fourth Grade
  • Diego Velasco, Dean of Students
  • Greg Vogel, Third Grade